Organization & Structure

The institute has a staff of around 500 people, including approximately 150 scientists. 

There are four departments, each with its own research groups and their own specific focus. Each department is headed by a director who is autonomous in his research activity. All directors are scientific members of the Max Planck Society and decide jointly on all matters concerning the institute.

Every two years they rotate in assuming the role of Managing Director.


Managing Director
Prof. Dr. Roger S. Goody
Phone:+49 (231) 133-2600


Phone: +49 (231) 133-2602
Fax: +49 (231) 133-2499

Telefon: +49 (231) 133-2401
Fax: +49 (231) 133-2499

Administration Manager
Wolfgang Bork
Phone:+49 (231) 133-2502
Fax: +49 (231) 133-2699

General Manager
Dr. Peter Herter
Phone:+49 (231) 133 - 2500
Fax:+49 (231) 133 - 2599

Petra Jurczynski
Phone: +49 (0231) - 133-2501
Fax: +49 (231) 133-2599

Advisory Board

Evaluation and Advisement
To ensure the high quality of their work in the long term, Max Planck institutes regularly undergo reviews by an expert panel. For this purpose, each institute has an advisory board. This international body consists of 13 scientists from various renowned institutions. Every three years it carries out an evaluation of the research achievements of the institute. The results are an important basis for the planning of the distribution of resources by the Max Planck Society.


Prof. Dr. Geneviève Almouzni
Nuclear Dynamics Group, Institut Curie, Frankreich

Prof. Dr. Shankar Balasubramanian
Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge, UK

Prof. Dr. Naama Barkai
Departments of Molecular Genetics and Physics of Complex Systems,
Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Prof. Dr. Anne Houdusse
Subcellular Structure and Cell Biology, Institut Curie, Frankreich

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Jürgen Kurths
Forschungsbereich Transdisziplinäre Konzepte und Methoden, Potsdam Institut für Klimafolgenforschung

Prof. Dr. Thomas Marlovits
Centre for Structural Systems Biology (CSSB), Hamburg

Prof. Dr. Adele Marston

Wellcome Centre for Cell Biology, University of Edinburgh, Scotland

Prof. Dr. Tobias Meyer
Chemical and Systems Biology, Stanford University Medical Center, Stanford, USA

Prof. Dr. Antonina Roll-Mecak

Cell Biology and Biophysics Unit, NINDS, USA

Prof. Dr. Helen Saibil
Department of Biological Sciences, University of London, UK

Prof. Dr. Kevan Shokat

Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology, University of California, USA

Prof. Dr. Titia Sixma

Division of Biochemistry, Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Dirk Trauner
Department of Chemistry, New York University, USA





Board of Trustees

Expert View from Outside
The Board of Trustees is an institution which supports the regular exchange of ideas in the Max Planck Society. The main task of this body is to advise the respective institute in matters of science policy as well as economic and organizational issues and to promote contact to the city, the region, and other parts of society.


Guido Baranowski
Ehem. Geschäftsführer des TechnologieZentrumDortmund GmbH

Prof. Dr. Manfred Bayer
Rektor der Technischen Universität Dortmund

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dirk Biermann
Institut für Spanende Fertigung, TU Dortmund

Ulla Burchardt
Ehem. Mitglied des Bundestages

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ursula Gather
Ehem. Rektorin der Technischen Universität Dortmund

Prof. Dr. Dieter Häussinger
Direktor der Klinik für Gastroenterologie, Hepatologie und Infektiologie, Universitätsklinikum Düsseldorf

Prof. Dr. Michael Heike
Direktor der Medizinischen Klinik Mitte, Klinikum Dortmund gGmbH

Prof. Dr. Jan Hengstler
Wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Leibniz-Instituts für Arbeitsforschung an der TU Dortmund

Udo Mager
Ehem. Geschäftsführer Flughafen Dortmund GmbH

René Röspel
Mitglied des Bundestages

Stefan Schreiber
Hauptgeschäftsführer der Industrie- und Handelskammer zu Dortmund

Dipl.-Ing. Ullrich Sierau
Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Dortmund a.D. 

Thomas Westphal
Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Dortmund

Prof. Dr. Holger Wormer
Institut für Journalistik, TU Dortmund

Dr. Beate Wieland
Abteilungsleiterin Forschung und Technologie, Ministerium für Innovation, Wissenschaft und Forschung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Go to Editor View