Experts from different fields together reveal the first structure of the peroxisomal docking complex [more]
Malte Gersch's team is looking for new ways to develop innovative therapeutic approaches. [more]
Optogenetic investigations by the Dehmelt group reveal mechanism for regulation of cell contraction dynamics [more]
Prof. Andrea Musacchio is part of an european research consortium awarded the prestigious ERC Synergy Grant to reconstitute cell division in vitro and in silico [more]
Dortmund Training Network again trains ten technical assistants [more]
Award for medically relevant cutting-edge research for new possibilities in cancer medicine with minimal side effects [more]
Aneta Koseska was taken up in the Lise Meitner Excellence Program of the Max Planck Society (MPS) [more]
Joining the stem cell network opens up a variety of opportunities for transdisciplinary exchange in biomedical research for scientists at the MPI Dortmund [more]
Herbert Waldmann was awarded for his outstanding achievements in the entire field of chemistry [more]
Christos Gatsogiannis becomes professor for electron tomography of nanostructured systems [more]
For his lifetime achievements in peptide and protein chemistry Herbert Waldmann is awarded The Josef Rudinger Memorial Lecture Award [more]
GTSE1 regulates microtubules and thus prevents errors in the distribution of chromosomes [more]
Dr. Dennis Quentin received the PhD Thesis Award of the Biochemistry Section of the Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh)
One day, medical compounds could be introduced into cells with the help of bacterial toxins [more]
Max Planck researchers make weak point in pathogens visible [more]
Andrea Musacchio receives the Leibniz Prize 2020 for his groundbreaking work on the control of cell division. [more]
The Max Planck Schools - an initiative of German universities and research organisations - start with a unique, innovative doctoral programme [more]
The President of Germany visited COMAS at the MPI to learn more about drug research in Dortmund. [more]
PhD Students from the TU Dortmund, the Chemical Genomics Centre and the Max Planck Institute Dortmund have initiated the first European International Chemical Biology Society (ICBS) Students’ Chapter. [more]
Prestigious ERC Synergy Grant to Stefan Raunser and partners to study the nanostructure of muscles  [more]
The team of Christian Schröter receives research funding from the Volkswagen Foundation to study the time component of life cycles using stem cells. [more]
As a partner in a research consortium the group of Prof. Dr. Stefan Raunser receives considerable BMBF funding. [more]
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Herbert Waldmann was awarded the Paul Ehrlich Prize of the French Society for Therapeutic Chemistry (SCT) for his outstanding work in the field of medicinal chemistry. [more]
The best young biology graduates from North Rhine-Westphalia habe been awarded the Karl von Frisch prize at the MPI by the VBIO at June 26th 2019. [more]
The equal opportunity officer of the MPI, Beate Schölermann, together with MinervaFemmeNet organised a networking event for young female scientists. [more]
Dr. Dennis Quentin was awarded the Evonik Industries AG thesis prize. Dr. Michael Grange received the EMBO long-term fellowhsip. [more]
The Max Planck Society in collaboration with AstraZeneca, Merck and Pfizer starts the third funding period of the Chemical Genomics Centre (CGC) [more]
Adrian Krzyzanowski was awarded the Hoechst Stipend of the Aventis Foundation in recognition of his excellent academic performance. [more]
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Herbert Waldmann was awarded in recognition of his masterful contributions to the field of the synthesis and function of optically active compounds. This prize, which is valued at 500 000 Yen, is awarded annually since 1995 by the Japan Research Foundation for Optically Active Compounds in Tokio. [more]
Researchers decode the toxin complex of the plague bacterium and other germs. [more]
Dr. Christos Gatsogiannis was awarded at this year's "Biomedicine Summit" for his outstanding work on bacterial toxins. [more]
Nature identified the strongest national partnership with the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology demonstrated by numerous successful projects. [more]
The discovery of new NP-inspired drugs however is slow and complex. The group of Herbert Waldmann has found a way to bypass these limitations by developing substances with new molecular framework [more]
The groups of Prof. Dr. Yaowen Wu and Dr. Leif Dehmelt developed a new optogenetic method for multi-directional control of cellular processes. [more]
The Raunser lab reports the cryo-EM structure of the XaxAB pore complex from Xenorhabdus nematophila and the crystal structures of the soluble monomers of XaxA and XaxB. [more]
The Waldmann group developed a composite strategy, where chemical proteomics and in silico target prediction were successfully combined to identify 5-Lipoxygenase as the target of the Wnt pathway inhibitor Lipoxygenin. [more]
The Raunser lab, for the first time, solved six high-resolution cryo-structures of F-actin in all its nucleotide states. The structures reveal how the state links to conformational dynamics and how this could determine interactions with actin binding proteins. [more]
Im Rahmen der diesjährigen Jahresversammlung der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft vom 12. bis 14. Juni wurden unsere ehemaligen Doktoranden Katharina Overlack und Zhi-Jun Jia mit der Otto-Hahn-Medaille für ihre außergewöhnlichen wissenschaftlichen Leistungen geehrt [more]
Vom 11. bis 13. Juni fand am Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Physiologie der vierte internationale SPHIRE Workshop statt. [more]
The former Max Planck Director Prof. Dr. Roger Goody became a Fellow of the Royal Society – the prestigious British Academy of Sciences. The Royal Society honours his extraordinary scientific work. [more]
EMBO announces today that Prof. Dr. Stefan Raunser has been elected among 62 outstanding life scientists to its membership. He is joining a group of more than 1800 of the best researchers in Europe and around the world. [more]
Scientists from eight institutions combine their manifold expertise to develop an infrastructure for drug discovery in North Rhine-Westphalia. [more]
AiCuris Anti-infective Cures GmbH, a leading company in the discovery and development of innovative drugs targeting infectious diseases and the MPI have entered into a collaborative agreement to identify novel compounds for the treatment of viral and bacterial infections.. [more]
The DFG has approved a Research Grant for Alex Bird’s project “Molecular basis of clathrin mediated stabilization of microtubules for chromosome segregation”. [more]
Go to Editor View